TEXAS LONGHORN BREEDERS ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA

Board of Directors Meeting January 14, 2022, 11:00 a.m. CST Marriott Hotel, Fort Worth, TX

Roll Call

	<u>Division A</u>		Division B		<u>Division C</u>
Х	Mark Hubbell	\checkmark	Keith DuBose	\checkmark	Justin Georges
X	Tom Smith	\checkmark	Ross Ohlendorf (via Zoom)	✓ David Edwards (via
Zoom)					
\checkmark	Deb Lesyk (via Zoom)	\checkmark	David Wars	Χ	Kris Johnson
Х	Todd Spaid	\checkmark	Kevin Rooker	\checkmark	Mike Lucas
\checkmark	Johnny Hicks		vacant		
Х	Matt Durkin	\checkmark	Sandi Nordhausen	13	present
Х	Reid Tolar	\checkmark	Stephen Head	6	absent
\checkmark	Dora Thompson	\checkmark	Mike McLeod		

Board Minutes for Approval, December 13, 2021 (Agenda Item 3)

A motion was made by Sandi Nordhausen, and seconded by David Wars, to accept and approve the minutes of the December 13, 2021, TLBAA Board of Directors meeting. The motion passed with no opposition.

Election Results and Seating of Directors for Division A (Agenda Item 4)

The number of regional directors representing Division A are reduced as of January 14, 2022. The election results reflect the reduced number of directors.

Region 3 & 4: Johnny Hicks was the only person receiving at least five (5) nominations for the combined Region 3 & 4 director position. As a result, no election was necessary. Johnny becomes the director for the combined Region 3 & 4.

Region 5 & 6: Dora Thompson and Neal Maraman both received the required number of nominations. The election was won by Dora and she will represent Regions 5 & 6.

Region 1 & 2: No one received the required five (5) nominations from the combined Region 1 & 2. With no nominations, there was not an election. In the meeting, David Wars nominated Deb Lesyk from Canada and Johnny Hicks nominated Greg Kott from Ohio. Deb Lesyk won the secret ballot election (the vote tally was not announced) and will represent Region 1 & 2.

Election of Executive Committee (Agenda Item 5)

Chairman: Keith DuBose was the only person nominated and was elected as the Chairman.

Vice-Chairman: Johnny Hicks was the only person nominated (by Mike McLeod, seconded by Justin Georges) and was elected as the Vice-Chairman.

Secretary: Stephen Head was the only person nominated (by Sandi Nordhausen, seconded by Justin Georges) and was elected as the Secretary.

Treasurer: Kevin Rooker was the only person nominated (by Sandi Nordhausen, seconded by Deb Lesyk) and was elected as the Treasurer

Parliamentarian: Chairman Keith DuBose appointed David Wars as the Parliamentarian.

Region 9 Director: The Region 9 Director position is currently vacant. Trigg Moore expressed interest in this position. The vacancy must be announced to allow the members to express interest in filling the position; therefore, there will not be a vote on this position today.

Breed Guidelines Committee Update (Agenda Item 7, Old Business)

David Wars made a presentation regarding the updating of the breed guidelines. His presentation included two documents, entitled "Proposed Breed Standard" and "Expanded Description of the Texas Longhorn". David stated that the committee plans to add pictures to these documents. David then fielded a few questions from the audience.

Treasurer's Report (Agenda Item 6)

Keith DuBose presented the independent auditor's report of the TLBAA finances. According to the report, "the financial statements ... present fairly ... the financial position of TLBAA as of June 30, 2021." For fiscal year 2020 – 2021, the net income was \$65,602.55 over budget (better than plan).

Keith also presented annual totals for transfers and registrations for 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022 year-to-date.

New Business (Agenda Item 8)

Cattleman's Congress Incident: Keith received a letter from Carla Payne regarding an incident that occurred at the Cattleman's Congress show earlier in January, 2022. Per Carla's letter, she wants to disband the TLBT Advisory Panel. Carla wants the World Show Committee to take over TLBT responsibilities. Carla recommends that the board of directors suspend the TLBT Advisory Panel and form a new committee. Carla noted that she was speaking on her own behalf and was not representing the World Show Committee.

➤ A motion was made by David Wars, and seconded by Kevin Rooker, to table this topic until further investigation can be conducted. The motion passed, with Ross Ohlendorf opposing.

A motion was made by Mike Lucas, and seconded by David Wars, to have Carrie Grace not be involved with any TLBT activities until this issue is resolved. The motion passed, with opposing votes cast by Stephen Head, Kevin Rooker, David Edwards and Deb Lesyk.

Hall of Fame Award: There was an issue with the Texas Longhorn Foundation not inducting a member into the Texas Longhorn Foundation Hall of Fame at this year's Longhorn Weekend. This topic was previously discussed at the TLBAA board of directors meeting on December 13, 2021.

A motion was made by David Wars, and seconded by Johnny Hicks, to create a new TLBAA Hall of Fame award, separate from the Texas Longhorn Foundation's award, and present the award to the two nominees for this year. Past winners of the Texas Longhorn Foundation Hall of Fame award should be included in the new TLBAA Hall of Fame. The motion passed, with Stephen Head and Deb Lesyk opposing.

Meeting Adjournment

Kevin Rooker made a motion, seconded by Sandi Nordhausen, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 1:45 p.m. CST.